Skip to content
February 18, 2012 / stephaniepomfrett

Miss Phyllis Dare in a green dress

This week’s Sepia Saturday theme is ‘Film’. I don’t have much in my collection about film, so this means I will have to buy something to fill that gap in the future! It’s also slightly bad, as one of the subjects I teach is Film Studies…

Anyway, I chose another picture of Miss Dare for this theme (I don’t know why I have so many pictures of her, except that she was lovely!), as she was one of the few music hall actresses to make a film. During her career, she starred in a mixture of silent films and ‘talkies’, although never really capturing the fame she had as a star of musicals on stage.

(Also, I have no idea what’s going on with the dress, although I do rather like the colour!)

8 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. Joy / Feb 18 2012 1:12 pm

    She is beautiful but the vivid green of the dress does take on a life of its own.

  2. Kristin Williams / Feb 18 2012 3:05 pm

    You have to wonder why they colored the dress that brilliant green.

  3. Velvet Sacks / Feb 18 2012 3:49 pm

    She is lovely, and I actually like the bold green dress.

  4. Karen S. / Feb 18 2012 6:07 pm

    I just adore this color of green….she’s pretty on her own but the dress takes this photo to higher levels!

  5. Linda / Feb 18 2012 10:20 pm

    I actually wore a dress this shade as a bridesmaid! Jewel green satin, in the 1980s. It’s interesting how the color in this photo enhances the shadows and folds in the dress.

  6. tyrogers6200 / Feb 19 2012 1:50 am

    Very interesting, a “music hall actress.” The green dress is very eye catching.

  7. Margaret / Feb 22 2012 8:36 pm

    Well, I think this is a stunning find and an actress fits this prompt. Perhaps not famous, but she has an adoring crowd and faithful fans, I’m sure of it! I think I count myself as one! 🙂

Leave a Reply

