Skip to content
January 29, 2012 / stephaniepomfrett

“I thought perhaps you were dead.”

This postcard was sent from one Mabel (in Bristol) to another (in Weston super Mare) in 1905 and made me laugh- I thought I would share it with you- Mabel’s spelling isn’t brilliant, so I’ve typed it with corrections included:

Dear M,

I am just come to see you. Uncle tuck [took] this [photo] when I went down for a week. What do you think of her. I thought prapeth [perhaps] you were dead as you do not write to me you see I do not for get you if you do me. Please give our love to your mother Fr and K hopeing to hear soon yours friend Mabel

please let me know if you have it all right

Leave a Reply

